28 Days

 

The movie 28 Days is with Sandra Bullock going thru rehabilitation for alcoholism and suffering withdrawal symptoms.  The rehab causes her to change her life style and a few friends too.

The movie 28 Days Later is a British horror film.  The plot depicts the breakdown of society following the accidental release of a highly contagious virus and focuses upon the struggle of four survivors to cope with the destruction of the life they once knew.

I am in an 82 week Kaiser Weight Management Program. After 28 days of my Diet I feel like aspects of both movies. Losing 28 pounds (and my sense of humor) in 28 days is only a start.  I still have a long way to go.  I am suffering withdrawal symptoms and trying to cope with the destruction of my life long relationship with my everlasting love; food.  Food made me happy when I was depressed.  Food kept me company when I was lonely.  Food helped me relax when I was in a crowd.  Food was an icebreaker at social and family occasions.  Food gave me joy daily like heroin, tobacco, marijuana, alcohol, opioids, methadone, gives others.  I am lucky in that none of those were ever of interest to me except for an occasional drink or even less occasional being drunk.

The definition of addiction is a chronic disease characterized by drug seeking and use that is compulsive, or difficult to control, despite harmful consequences.  Food has been my drug of choice and is now my drug of fear.

The horror movie 28 Weeks Later is a sad sequel to 28 Days Later.  I hope to report again next year with my own story of 28 weeks later and hopefully with good results.  I am beginning to understand it is not just an 82-week program but will be the program for the rest of my life.

Keep up the fight if you are fighting any addiction.

About Boyd & Nicholas
Boyd & Nicholas — THE COST REPORT PEOPLE® The nation’s leading cost report preparation firm, Tom Boyd and Tom Nicholas are THE COST REPORT PEOPLE®. Specializing in home health and hospice, Boyd & Nicholas have earned an impeccable reputation for service, expertise and integrity delivered with professionalism and personality. At a time when cost reports are defining the very future of home health Medicare reimbursement, trust THE COST REPORT PEOPLE® with your submission and experience the difference! (877) 424-6527. www.boydandnicholas.com

5 Responses to 28 Days

  1. Michael Tidd says:

    Congratulations Tom! Besides my family I have to admit that Food is a love of my life also!

  2. Larry Leahy says:

    wishing you much success

    On Tue, Sep 27, 2016 at 11:45 AM, The Boyd and Nicholas Blog wrote:

    > Boyd & Nicholas posted: ” The movie 28 Days is with Sandra Bullock going > thru rehabilitation for alcoholism and suffering withdrawal symptoms. The > rehab causes her to change her life style and a few friends too. The movie > 28 Days Later is a British horror film. The ” >

  3. Cremson Turfley says:

    Good job Tom! Hang in there you’ve made a great decision!

  4. dgirard@colhospice.com says:

    So proud of you! I want you round for a long time. In our society we are stuffers or starvers in situations that cause dis-ease or distress. I am in the genetic class of “starvers”. Interestingly enough regardless of your weight, 500# or 50#…the illness is the same disorder manifested in many ways. Ali died from this addiction. Thank you for increasing awareness of eating disorder issues. Deb

  5. Laura Neisius says:

    Proud of you – I totally understand that it is a lifelong journey – someone who has been up/down my entire life.

    Have a great day – Laura

Leave a Reply

