Education

I came to value education late in life. I was working for Blue Cross (Medicare MAC) in my early 30s and came to realize that there was a lot that could be learned outside my work world of auditing and tormenting health care providers, as fun as that was (and it was).   In my thirst for knowledge I joined professional organizations or read their publications; HFMA, ACFE, IIA, IMA. I looked into trying to obtain MBA, CPA, CIA, CMA, CFE, FHMA.

Like many of us I used excuses to delay the education goals;
My employer did not encourage nor reimburse for education.
Work required extensive time and travel.
Girlfriend/wife. (not at the same time).
Being a parent.

The excuses or delays to formal or official education is why accomplished goals came “late”:
Masters Business Administration (MBA), St. Mary’s College of California, (go Gaels) at age 45.
Home Care Administrator Certificate Program (HCACP), CAHSAH, (go home care) at age 60.
Certified Fraud Examiner (CFE), Association of Certified Fraud Examiners, (go fraud busters) at age 64.
Certified Healthcare Financial Professional (CHFP), Healthcare Financial Management Association, (go HFMA) at age 67.
CRO?
To be determined.
To be determined.

My German Mother drilled in me that degrees and certifications are needed to prove that you are educated. She was disappointed that I did not become a CPA. I have inherited some of this as I am disappointed that none of my three kids have obtained college degrees and I will forever hope that one or more of them may yet do so. College education can broaden your world, increase self-esteem, improve awareness and often better your finances.

I recognize that you can obtain “education” without formal training, classes, or certifications. Education should be pursued, in school or not, be it studying nineteenth-century French poetry, learning to become an artist or poet or writer or learning anything new.

“Education is not the learning of facts, but the training of the mind to think.” -Albert Einstein

I read where a Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) became a Registered Nurse at the age of 84. I have a friend, age 62, who has spent two years acquiring a doctorate in nursing. More people should be doing that. You are never too old to learn and old dogs can learn new tricks.

Education should continue until you die –and I hope it does not stop then.

 

About Boyd & Nicholas
Boyd & Nicholas — THE COST REPORT PEOPLE® The nation’s leading cost report preparation firm, Tom Boyd and Tom Nicholas are THE COST REPORT PEOPLE®. Specializing in home health and hospice, Boyd & Nicholas have earned an impeccable reputation for service, expertise and integrity delivered with professionalism and personality. At a time when cost reports are defining the very future of home health Medicare reimbursement, trust THE COST REPORT PEOPLE® with your submission and experience the difference! (877) 424-6527. www.boydandnicholas.com

Leave a Reply

