The Four Letter Word

I lost 80 pounds in 2012 and early 2013. I thought because it was about time. I was eating proper and less and walking the treadmill daily for 2-3 miles.

I attended health education classes to consider bariatric surgery (BS) and decided that was not for me because I had the will power to lose weight (Blog 6/11/13).

To quote my silly self:

“as a part-time libertarian and a person who believes in personal responsibility, it just grates on me to consider BS. After all, no one force feeds me and I got obese by my personal choices.”

BULL. Once I had my kidney removed it seemed like an excuse to “party on” as life appeared short and chocolate is my favorite food. I have been known to eat a large tub of chocolate pudding at one sitting. But then I rarely have met a food I did not like.

I now admit to failure having regained 60 of the 80 pounds I had lost. Next month I will be starting an 82-week program offered by Kaiser Permanente Health Management. The program includes planned meals, supplied foods and weekly group meetings (group therapy?). My goal is to lose 125 pounds by 9/8/18.

Sometimes personal responsibility is not enough. Sometimes help is needed.

Help is a better four letter word than diet.

 

About Boyd & Nicholas
Boyd & Nicholas — THE COST REPORT PEOPLE® The nation’s leading cost report preparation firm, Tom Boyd and Tom Nicholas are THE COST REPORT PEOPLE®. Specializing in home health and hospice, Boyd & Nicholas have earned an impeccable reputation for service, expertise and integrity delivered with professionalism and personality. At a time when cost reports are defining the very future of home health Medicare reimbursement, trust THE COST REPORT PEOPLE® with your submission and experience the difference! (877) 424-6527. www.boydandnicholas.com

3 Responses to The Four Letter Word

  1. Larry Leahy says:

    Endless battle keep up the fight

    On Tuesday, July 19, 2016, The Boyd and Nicholas Blog wrote:

    > Boyd & Nicholas posted: “I lost 80 pounds in 2012 and early 2013. I > thought because it was about time. I was eating proper and less and walking > the treadmill daily for 2-3 miles. I attended health education classes to > consider bariatric surgery (BS) and decided that was not fo” >

  2. Lori Leckbee Law says:

    Good for you Tom! I look forward to your blogs on how it goes. I am constantly battling my weight and have gained 40 pounds over the last few years. It creeps up and then one day you think – OMG I need to do something about this. I have been doing Atkins type diet, and so far so good, have lost 15 pounds.

    Take care and keep us posted!

    Lori

    Date: Tue, 19 Jul 2016 16:08:42 +0000 To: lmleckbee@msn.com

  3. Colin Boyd says:

    Well written Dad!!! I wish you all the help, good luck, hard work, and love (all four letter words) and through in determination. I am so proud to hear you are going to fight for your health and well being. This path, although a long and tough road is the right one!! Remember this, insanity is defined as “doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results.” Lots of love Dad, I am behind you!!!

    Love,
    Colin

Leave a Reply

