My Obituary

When in 2013 I thought that I would not see 2014 I started drafting my own obituary. An obituary is a news article that reports the recent death of a person, typically along with an account of the person’s life and information about the upcoming funeral.

The local newspapers now call them “Life Tribute” and In Memoriam Notices” and charges for them by the line with extra charges for the picture. I have been astonished at the length of some of these postings, the number of times they appear and often the use of a color picture taken many years before. I do not understand why anyone, likely including my kids, would spend $3,000 and more for newspaper ads with limited appeal. Of course, at that time it will be my money they are spending and I can’t take it with me. I would rather they feed the homeless than feed the local newspapers.

Rather than a flowery and exaggerated tribute that would produce a yawn, chuckle or “really?” I would ask my kids that they treat their Mother better, visit her more often and do things for her that she does not have the skills or strength to accomplish.

Here is the obituary I drafted; short and to the point and with no picture. And should cost less than $100 for one appearance.

“Thomas E. Boyd DOB 9/8/48, DOD XX/XX/XXXX, son of Ingeborg and Robert Boyd, wife Nancy, kids Aaron, Cindy, Colin, grandkids Marisa, Tera, Connor, all Boyd’s. Brother Bernie Gregor. Looking forward to seeing granddaughter Lorelei Lea.”

Frugal to the end.

About Boyd & Nicholas
Boyd & Nicholas — THE COST REPORT PEOPLE® The nation’s leading cost report preparation firm, Tom Boyd and Tom Nicholas are THE COST REPORT PEOPLE®. Specializing in home health and hospice, Boyd & Nicholas have earned an impeccable reputation for service, expertise and integrity delivered with professionalism and personality. At a time when cost reports are defining the very future of home health Medicare reimbursement, trust THE COST REPORT PEOPLE® with your submission and experience the difference! (877) 424-6527. www.boydandnicholas.com

3 Responses to My Obituary

  1. Charlie Oliver says:

    Yes, I understand the frugality. Nine years ago, with the loss of my Beth they were still cheap although I have no idea what if anything I paid. With the loss of Bonnie it was going to be hundreds and they only print the paper a couple of days a week now. So for six months she is on the funeral home web site and for a mere pittance she will be forever (in internet time) on http://christianmemorials.com. There people can react and I can see it. And there I can visit both Bonnie and Beth when the mood strikes which is quite often these days. Frugal to the end.

  2. melloreb says:

    love your obit. Soooo you. Just th basics, please!!! >

  3. selise1959@sbcglobal.net says:

    Perfect! I agree with your thinking on this.

    Selise

    >

Leave a Reply

