Be Counting

We have all heard or made the statement “life isn’t fair” sometimes followed by “get over it”.  In the movie “The Long Kiss Goodnight” Geena Davis tells her daughter “life is pain, get used to it”. (I love the movie for the dialogue more than the action).

Wherever I think that life isn’t fair I also try to add the statement “and I am counting my blessing”.

Recently a client admitted their first patient to their hospice. She is a two-week old baby. So sad. My granddaughter, Lorelei Lea, died in 2008 at the age of 7 months and 22 days. Life isn’t fair and I count my three living blessings; Marisa, Tera and Connor.

It hurts when I walk or stand and I only have one kidney. John M. will now forever be in a wheelchair and John R. will now forever be on renal dialysis. Life isn’t fair and I count my blessings.

I served in Vietnam and this summer will try to investigate if I am suffering some effects from Agent Orange. There are 58,267 names on The Wall and many thousands more who have suffered and are still suffering health and mental problems from serving in Vietnam. Life isn’t fair and I count my blessings.

I hear my peers and colleagues talk about the good colleges their kids are going to or the great jobs they have. My kids have neither. My brother lost his three kids before they turned 45 and has no contact with grandchildren. Life isn’t fair and I count my three blessings; Aaron, Cindy and Colin.

We should all try to make a difference (blog 10/2/12) and be grateful (blog 12/26/12) while remembering that everybody hurts (blog 4/12/16). Be counting your blessing and accept that life isn’t always fair.

Be counting your blessing and accept that life isn’t fair.

 

About Boyd & Nicholas
Boyd & Nicholas — THE COST REPORT PEOPLE® The nation’s leading cost report preparation firm, Tom Boyd and Tom Nicholas are THE COST REPORT PEOPLE®. Specializing in home health and hospice, Boyd & Nicholas have earned an impeccable reputation for service, expertise and integrity delivered with professionalism and personality. At a time when cost reports are defining the very future of home health Medicare reimbursement, trust THE COST REPORT PEOPLE® with your submission and experience the difference! (877) 424-6527. www.boydandnicholas.com

5 Responses to Be Counting

  1. MaryLou says:

    I be countingTom!

  2. Colin Boyd says:

    Beautifully written Dad!!!
    I love you,
    Colin

  3. pat speka says:

    Life isn’t fair but we all have many blessings.

  4. Larry Leahy says:

    I am blessed by knowing you

    On Tuesday, May 17, 2016, The Boyd and Nicholas Blog wrote:

    > Boyd & Nicholas posted: “We have all heard or made the statement “life > isn’t fair” sometimes followed by “get over it”. In the movie “The Long > Kiss Goodnight” Geena Davis tells her daughter “life is pain, get used to > it”. (I love the movie for the dialogue more than the action).” >

  5. I am blessed for knowing Mary Lou, Pat and Larry and for Colin Boyd.

Leave a Reply

