7 Things

7 things you may not have known about me.

1. Tried suicide at 16 and thought about it a few times before the birth of my daughter when I was 28. Never since.

2. In 2002 Boyd & Nicholas, Inc. was 15 minutes from bankruptcy.

3. My kidney cancer is a blessing. It caused B&N to become part of Simione in 2014 and my greater appreciation of wife, family, friends and life.

4. Even at my age I sometimes regret not becoming the CPA my mother wanted me to be or the army officer I thought my father wanted me to be. Ironic in that neither event would have changed our relationships.

5. I can’t help but feel that I failed my kids as none of them completed college. I believe their lives would be better had they done so.

6. I deeply regret my treatment of Susan, the first love of my life. We should have talked about Elaine.

7. I am scared of retirement. Is there life after work? My thinking, my readings, my social interactions are mostly within the work arena.

About Boyd & Nicholas
Boyd & Nicholas — THE COST REPORT PEOPLE® The nation’s leading cost report preparation firm, Tom Boyd and Tom Nicholas are THE COST REPORT PEOPLE®. Specializing in home health and hospice, Boyd & Nicholas have earned an impeccable reputation for service, expertise and integrity delivered with professionalism and personality. At a time when cost reports are defining the very future of home health Medicare reimbursement, trust THE COST REPORT PEOPLE® with your submission and experience the difference! (877) 424-6527. www.boydandnicholas.com

2 Responses to 7 Things

  1. Larry says:

    Tom what outside activities are you involved in. As my wife often reminds me that I seem to be in more meetings in retirement than when I was working. I did turn down running for my party’s county chairman due to my future position as Rotary President. There is a lot out there for you and keep up the traveling. Any future trips planned to TX? I am trying to get my wife to make a trip out to Monterrey with our granddaughter. Will keep you posted and appreciate you staying in touch.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. Bonnie says:

    Tom, I’m so thankful that your will to live was stronger than to leave your loved ones behind wondering.
    And now…a little something from Frank Sinatra:

    “Regrets, I’ve had a few;
    But then again, too few to mention.
    I did what I had to do
    And saw it through without exemption.

    I planned each charted course;
    Each careful step along the byway,
    And more, much more than this,
    I did it my way.

    Yes, there were times, I’m sure you knew
    When I bit off more than I could chew.
    But through it all, when there was doubt,
    I ate it up and spit it out.
    I faced it all and I stood tall;
    And did it my way.

    I’ve loved, I’ve laughed and cried.
    I’ve had my fill; my share of losing.
    And now, as tears subside,
    I find it all so amusing.

    To think I did all that;
    And may I say – not in a shy way,
    “Oh no, oh no not me,
    I did it my way”.

    May God Bless you, Tom Boyd (and Nancy) with good health, family near and ever present joy.
    I’m so glad I met you and I consider you a friend.
    Bonnie O

Leave a Reply

