Falling in love

When I met Nancy she was a divorced working mother of two young boys under five years of age. I knew then, and since that many men, and women too don’t like dating someone who has young children.

Colin Patrick was easy to love largely because he was barely one year old, looked helpless and hardly spoke. He was a quiet child and I guess I identified with that. He was the first in the family that I think I fell in love with. Alas, some years later he began to talk and now is rarely quiet.

Aaron Michael was another story. He was almost four when we met. He missed his father and he missed having 100% of his Mother’s time and attention. He did not like me and resented my presence in Nancy’s house. The feeling was mutual. We had a rough time for a few months.

One evening while visiting Nancy we ticked each other off somehow. Aaron got on the short and solid coffee table that was in the living room and started jumping up and down while calling me “Fart Face” over and over again. I finally leaned over, all 6’ 4” of me and looked him in the eyes, nose to nose, and said “why don’t you go away.” Aaron looked back at me and replied “why don’t you go away, I live here.” I laughed, picked him up, gave him a hug and said, “yes you do.” I think that day I fell in love with Aaron.

On August 5th, 1998 I adopted Aaron and Colin. The birth of two Boyd’s, age 22 and 19. Perhaps late but not never. I now have three grandchildren, all Boyd, and hope for more. Having the same DNA is overrated.

About Boyd & Nicholas
Boyd & Nicholas — THE COST REPORT PEOPLE® The nation’s leading cost report preparation firm, Tom Boyd and Tom Nicholas are THE COST REPORT PEOPLE®. Specializing in home health and hospice, Boyd & Nicholas have earned an impeccable reputation for service, expertise and integrity delivered with professionalism and personality. At a time when cost reports are defining the very future of home health Medicare reimbursement, trust THE COST REPORT PEOPLE® with your submission and experience the difference! (877) 424-6527. www.boydandnicholas.com

7 Responses to Falling in love

  1. melloreb says:

    Amen to all!! Having lots of “blended” Mellors, I totally agree and understand you!!!!

  2. Roger Corbin says:

    Nice story, entertaining and so very funny with the manner it is narrated.

    Roger

  3. Pat says:

    Great story all’s well that ends well.

  4. Tali says:

    😢awe that story brought tears to my eyes!

  5. Larry Leahy says:

    Great story and great father and granddad

  6. Mary Lou says:

    I love love love love this! Sweetness.

  7. Colin Boyd says:

    This is a story that I didn’t hear of until my adult life. I would say the proudest day of my life was the day at court and the judge asked us of my brother and I agree to taking on my “Step” Father’s name and full adoption. This is a day that I will never forget and I will always be proud to call myself a Boyd and my wife and I are trying our best for our first little Boyd and give my parents another Boyd Grandchild. Love you Dad and always will!!! Thanks for all that you have done for me!!! GREATLY APPRECIATED.
    Love, Colin

Leave a Reply

