My War Days

War Days

War Days

The picture and the YouTube http://youtu.be/Oyd1EVGBqro, neither of me, shows most of what I did while in Vietnam with the 199th light Infantry brigade when not filling sandbags or literally burning shit (true, we burned it to get rid of it). Most of the time we traveled by helicopter with the 106 on a sling under the helicopter to be dumped in the jungle, swamp, or rice fields; or secondary (with much personal preference) we rode in a jeep with the gun mounted on the jeep too.

The funny part, I was not trained to be a grunt (infantry) nor a gun bunny (artillery). I was trained to be an artillery surveyor (graduated 3rd in class of about 80). HQS decided they did not need my skills and assigned me to the 106 platoon. I blame Mickey Mouse as I was reading a comic book when the Sargent arrived to pick a volunteer and Tompkins was writing a letter to his wife, I got the pick. (Tompkins, who barely graduated in the same surveyor class, spent a lazy safe year at HQS shuffling papers, good for him).

Life is funny. I did not serve in my trained job but I was better off than many others. While in Vietnam I spent a week in the hospital but it was for food poisoning. I had a battle field operation but it was for an ingrown toenail. I went thru the Tet Offensive of 1968 but was protecting base camp and not looking for the Viet Cong as they came storming at us (bad call there). Two bee hive rounds from the 106 by another outfit killed 67 Viet Cong.

I did not like Vietnam and have no plans for visiting, I would have to be 165 years old before it got on my bucket list. It took until about 1979 before fireworks did not cause me anxiety, or jumping and it took until about 1999 to stop being prejudice against Vietnamese.

About Boyd & Nicholas
Boyd & Nicholas — THE COST REPORT PEOPLE® The nation’s leading cost report preparation firm, Tom Boyd and Tom Nicholas are THE COST REPORT PEOPLE®. Specializing in home health and hospice, Boyd & Nicholas have earned an impeccable reputation for service, expertise and integrity delivered with professionalism and personality. At a time when cost reports are defining the very future of home health Medicare reimbursement, trust THE COST REPORT PEOPLE® with your submission and experience the difference! (877) 424-6527. www.boydandnicholas.com

3 Responses to My War Days

  1. Larry Leahy says:

    Thanks for sharing and Vietnam is also not on my bucket list

  2. Mike Randesi says:

    As you know from our previous talks we had similar experiences in the army. I went in May 1966 and served in Vietnam May 1967 to May 1968. Then to Germany for the rest of my tour. I was drafted just out of college and then enlisted to pick my MOS and station with hopes that this would help to avoid Vietnam. However that’s the 1st place they sent me. When I got there I had my orders changed from radio repair in Saigon (safe) to ground survelience radar in the central highlands, 1st Cav (not so safe). (keeping the enemy out of the landing zones at night). Though I hated it at the time I am glad that I had and survived this experience of a lifetime.

    • Tom says:

      Mike,
      Thank you for your service. Life is strange is it not. You may have been lucky to not be in Saigon during the Tet Offense of 68. I am glad you came back.
      Tom

Leave a Reply

