Healthcare & Me

June 26th to July 3rd, and again July 4th to July 8th, I was in the hospital for removal of my right kidney and some related complications. All this for what was to be a 3-4 hour operation and a 2-4 day hospital stay. Being old, obese and suffering from the complications made the hospital stays longer than planned and much worse.

My observations:

1. We have a great health care system. The nursing staff, doctors and medical professionals at Kaiser Permanente were professional in manner; competent in actions; and, had compassion for my suffering.

2. I saw so many pretty nurses at Kaiser that I could do a year’s calendar of monthly “nurse of the month.” This observation does indicate that I was not as sick as I thought.

3. Our health care system is expensive. In addition to the 24/7 nursing care, I saw almost every day doctors, lab technicians, physical therapists, housekeepers, food services, discharge planners and nurse managers. Only one home care PT visit.

4. I am worth it. And so are you.

5. If you find yourself in a hospital or facing health issues do share your concerns with friends, family and associates. Since people found out that I had kidney cancer I have been touched and overwhelmed by the expressions of good wishes, kind thoughts and prayers. I have learned of church and/or prayer groups praying for me from Washington State to the east coast. I have heard from old friends and made new.

6. I send my good wishes, kind thoughts, and prayers to the Kaiser engineer who shared that his wife had stage 4 cancer; to Dr. M and Dr. C who shared that their wives are being treated for cancer; and, to all of you.

The only way to keep your health is to eat what you don’t want, drink what you don’t like, and do what you’d rather not.
Mark Twain

About Boyd & Nicholas
Boyd & Nicholas — THE COST REPORT PEOPLE® The nation’s leading cost report preparation firm, Tom Boyd and Tom Nicholas are THE COST REPORT PEOPLE®. Specializing in home health and hospice, Boyd & Nicholas have earned an impeccable reputation for service, expertise and integrity delivered with professionalism and personality. At a time when cost reports are defining the very future of home health Medicare reimbursement, trust THE COST REPORT PEOPLE® with your submission and experience the difference! (877) 424-6527. www.boydandnicholas.com

2 Responses to Healthcare & Me

  1. Larry Leahy says:

    Wish u the best

  2. Rebecca Mellor says:

    Dont forget to put me on that calendar!!! Love you, Tomcat!!

Leave a Reply

